Buscar en Irene de Renfe

Get to know us

Page content

Feve is the longest narrow gauge railway network in Europe, covering 1,192 km and almost 400 stations and stops. The area it covers runs through the autonomous regions of Galicia (A Coruña and Lugo provinces), the Principality of Asturias, Cantabria, the Basque Country (Bizkaia province), Castile and León (Burgos, Palencia and León provinces) and Murcia. There are Feve Cercanías (Commuter) hubs in each of the regions it serves with Cantabria representing 44%, followed by Asturias (33%) and Bizkaia (15%). Passengers on the lines in these three hubs represent 92% of all Feve passengers.

Mapa general de líneas de Feve en España


  • 1904 Approval of the Secondary Railways Law to cover the general bankruptcy situation at many companies.
  • 1926 The State Railways Operator (EFE) was created to run lines built by the State and operate lines with expired or abandoned concessions, whatever their gauge.
  • 1941 Renfe was created with the wide gauge railways run by EFE to that point being transferred over to the new public company.
  • 1950 The law provides legal status and assets for the body running the narrow gauge railways.
  • 1965 The drafting of the Statutes and adoption of the name Ferrocarriles de Vía Estrecha (Feve - Narrow Gauge Railways), whose main activity would be to provide the best overland transport service possible with the best financial returns.
  • 1972 The legal system for Feve changes from Autonomous State Enterprise to Commercial Enterprise. The new framework aimed to place the company's responsiblities on the same level as Renfe's.
  • 1978 The constitution marked an historical change as the autonomous railways were created and the transfer of lines to those regions who requested it began, as long as the line ran wholly within their territory.
  • 2013 Renfe merges with Renfe and Adif.